I don’t get it

This invitation to an open house just came across my email.

Does this mean that if I attend I might be forced to buy said house against my will? Or that if another buyer doesn’t qualify for financing I will be made to subsidize their loan? If I don’t consider myself a member of the “progressive public” am I not welcome? Am I a racist if I don’t go? It’s all very confusing.

12 responses to “I don’t get it

  1. The answer is yes. Yes, yes, and dayamn yes!

  2. Hmm…I was afraid of that. Best I just get drunk and watch my Tivo’d episodes of Glen Beck.

  3. Listen, guy, I found something that’s beyond amazing, and I am going to post it later on tonight or tomorrow at dark thirty ay emm. But I watched a movie that for me was earth shaking in so many ways. I hope you will find it that way too. Forget getting drunk. You need to be stone cold sober when you watch it. ‘kay?

  4. “If I don’t consider myself a member of the “progressive public” am I not welcome?”

    No, it means that if THEY don’t consider you a member of the “progressive public,” you are not welcome.

    Agree with Jewel: Yes, you are a racist. Fucking duh, genius. We all are.

  5. Progressive not as in politics. Start at one house, move to the next.

    It’s like a progressive dinner I think. First course at one house, a different course at a different home and on until dessert. We used to do these in Girl Scouts too many years ago.

  6. Thanks Jaye, that’s a relief. You can never be too sure up here in rain city.

    See Andy? I’m not a racist! Just a confused and paranoid real estate agent.

  7. Ouch.

    Thank goodness Jaye piped up otherwise you’d all work yourselves into a complete lather.

    Wait. I keep forgetting that’s the point.

  8. Arthurstone, you generous fellow. You assume we listen to reason around here. Jaye’s hapless attempt to steer us towards sensible discourse is doomed to fail. It’s a dawn to dusk hunt for personal dissatisfaction here on the blogosphere, and boy are we all ever getting good at it.

    As for lather, well…if only the nights were longer.

  9. Andy’s right. I’m not buying Jaye’s explanation, which was obviously meant to make me look foolish…er.

    As for sensible recourse, I’m going to show up at that “progressive” open house dressed as Paul Revere’s mistress waving my Tea Party flag. That should teach them a thing or two about what it means to be a REAL American, eh Arthur?

  10. I hope this definition of what a racist is finally clears up what racism is for you all:

  11. I don’t know if it will clear anything up for anyone, but it will certainly help see to it that people keep being pissed at each other when they were otherwise ready to stop.

Leave a Reply

