Around here, “it’s hard” predicting the weather.

Today’s Weather:

8:00 AM – Partly cloudy and cool.

9:00AM – Partly sunny and cool.

10:00AM – Snow flurries!?

11:00AM – Raining.

12:00PM – Clear and sunny.

1:00PM – Hailing!!?

2:00PM – Raining…hard.

3:00PM – Clear and sunny.

4:00PM – Warm and sunny.

If you want to be a successful weatherman, move to Arizona and then watch where you’re standing.

9 responses to “Around here, “it’s hard” predicting the weather.

  1. Again, it’s easy for someone who has not one minute of education or training in meteriology to criticise someone who is at least trying to inform them of the complicated processes involved in predicting the weather in a specific geographic area.

    The tired old conservative fall back: if you don’t understand it, criticise it. If you can’t criticise it, at least make fun of the big words they use.

  2. It’s a joke Joe. A humorous observation of todays weather. A light hearted attempt to poke fun at the futility of predicting day to day climate conditions in the Pacific Northwest compared to areas where the weather is a bit less volitile shall we say.

    Y’know, my initial response to someone who comments here citing how reasonable they are and then rather than reason, starts flinging poo like your typical leftist monkey is to either ignore them or to send their IP address off to wordpress purgatory. For some reason this morning I’m feeling charitable however so here’s your chance. Wow me with your logic on why you think someone you disagree with is an idiot by definition. Or why you think climate science as it has been used by the IPPC is science by definition in light of the recent “Climategate” revelations. Or why you think it is a good idea for government to get involved in the car business given past experences such as British Leyland just to name one.

    Tell me why you think Joe, not what you think. So far I am underwhelmed. I wait with baited breath.

    Oh, and as it has been established that I am such a bully, if you call me a racist again as in your comment on a previous post, I’ll take your lunch money and give you such a wedgie.

  3. Sorry, I misread your “humorous observation” of weathermen not being able to predict the weather, for you criticizing a job that someone is trying to perform to the best of their ability. My mistake.

    In regards to my comment about Rush Limbaugh being an Idiot: It’s not only that I disagree with most everything that comes out of his non-stop running mouth, but I do in fact think he’s not very smart – ie: in my opinion, a complete Idiot. But I’m sure you disagree with me, so I’ll let Mr Limbaugh make the case for me:

    Just yesterday Rush Limbaugh was quoted as saying that “if health care passes and all his fears are realized, he’ll leave the country”. he went on to say: “[h]uman beings will die earlier than normal” under the “freedom killing” and “life threatening” plan, and calling for it to be “aborted.”

    Now, I guess his latest plan is to bail to Costa Rica if we pass some sort of universal health care in the USA.

    CALLER: If the health care bill passes, where would you go for health care yourself? And the second part of that is, what would happen to the doctors, do they have to participate in the federal program, or could they opt out of it? […]

    Just so it’s not out of context, this is his (Limbaugh’s) exact quote: “My guess in even in Canada and even in the UK, doctors have opted out. And once they’ve opted, they can’t see anybody Medicare, Medicaid, or what will become the exchanges. They have to have a clientele of private patients that will pay them a retainer and it’ll be a very small practice. I don’t know if that’s been outlawed in the Senate bill. I don’t know. I’ll just tell you this, if this passes and it’s five years from now and all that stuff gets implemented — I am leaving the country. I’ll go to Costa Rica”

    I hate to inform Mr Limbaugh, but the Costa Rican healthcare system is known as the Caja and it is a completely government-owned insurance system – and it is rated as one of the highest in the Americas on an international level – and the country’s citizens enjoy the health and life expectancy equal to that of much more developed nations. These accolades come courtesy of strong, universal health insurance and excellent public and private hospitals. Costa Rica’s public health insurance system is available country-wide to all citizens and legal residents. There are ten major public hospitals – four in San Jose, including the Children’s Hospital – affiliated with the Caja. For non-emergencies and everyday medical care, small clinics, known as EBAIS (pronounced ay-vy-ice), are located in almost every community. As of 2009, private insurance is available through INS, the government-owned insurance monopoly. Most plans cover dental work, optometry, and cosmetic surgery in the case of an accident. Prescription drugs, certain medical exams, sick visits and hospitalization are covered at 70% cost, and surgeon and aesthetician costs are covered at full cost. Currently, private medical insurance
    costs about $50-$100/month per person, depending on age, gender and other factors.

    But unfortunately for Mr Limbaugh Costa Rica is a pretty progressive country. They probably won’t let him in, especially if they do a background check. He brings no special talent that the country would want (I’m sure they already have their share of loudmouths) and we won’t even bring up his prescription drug abuse, being married three times, etc. I must say he would be quite a catch for any country.

    You don’t have to be smart to be able to talk non-stop – and from what I can tell Rush Limbaugh is not smart, and he talks a lot – without any facts or data to back him up. That’s what I would define as an Idiot.

    Then there was his famous “Barak the magic Negro” skit. (very clever) – calling soldiers who criticized the Iraq war “Phony Soldiers” – accusing Michael J Fox of “exaggerating” his parkinson’s symptoms. Yeah, Rush Limbaugh is a real class act.

    Oh yeah, and accusing me of “flinging poo like your typical leftist monkey?” That is your brilliant come back? And then you threaten to send me off to wordpress purgatory simply because I disagree with your viewpoint? Not very “freedom loving” of you if you ask me……

    And thanks for the invite, but I’ll save my opinions on why I agree (or strongly disagree) with what our elected officials did in relation to the bailing out of Detroit (and Wall Street) for one of your future blogs that address that specific issue. One topic at a time please.

    Thanks for the interest, and I look forward to reading your future posts (even the ones I totally disagree with)

    Regards,

    Joe

  4. Well, that’s more like it Joe. Sorry for calling you a poo flinging leftist monkey! That was a well thought out comment. I’m a little busy right now so I’ll reply in more detail later. Now that we are hopefully through calling each other names, I look forward to your further comments.

  5. Thanks for not calling me a poo flinging liberal leftist monkey. I would more describe myself as a small business owning capitalist with a very strong social conscience – because I think it’s not only good for business, but is the only hope for America.

  6. I’ve been to Fat Smittys. Visiting my best friend in Seattle on a trip out to the NP. Good grief. Small world.

  7. Joe.
    Been thinking on a long detailed response to your pumping of the Costa Rican health care system but as you can see from the picture at the top of this blog, I am a fan of modern architecture, which seeks to eliminate unnesesary ornamentaion so I will keep it short as opposed to your more…Victorian prose.

    It seems like a very good system for a small, mostly poor country like Costa Rica, ruled by an elite oligarchy who of course can afford private care while providing the masses something of a lesser nature. I’m not saying that our own country doesn’t need an overhaul of the current system but I am skeptical that their system could work in a country of our size. Another entitlement of that size piled onto our already bloated national debt would surly bankrupt us.

  8. Westsound,

    I see your point in regards to Costa Rica being a small country compared to the US: but wouldn’t the size of the US population actually spread out the risk/cost, due to scale?

    And have you been to Costa Rica to confirm that the “elite oligarchy” actually do use a different health care system than the “masses” ? – again, facts please, not conjecture pulled out of your be-hind. heh

    And as far as I can tell, we’re bankrupt as it is – at least as far as the “health care” system is concerned. And I’m sure China isn’t complaining about our defense spending (ie: Iraq war) they’re snapping up that debt as fast as they can (or at least until they figure we out we actually are bankrupt….)

    Maybe they can just pick up the bill for our health care ‘system” as well – that way all their children that are currently filling up our medical schools will have jobs for life.

    Victorian-ly yours,

    Joe

Leave a Reply

