I’ll have to get back to you on that one:

Question of the day from Morgan at House of Eratosthenes. bush-thinking-hard

“Can someone show me where — anywhere — the democrat party has a lock on power, and the result isn’t chaos, disaster, bedlam…hopelessness?”

Anyone?…Bueler?

8 responses to “I’ll have to get back to you on that one:

  1. Most recently 1992 – 2000. Peace, prosperity. What more could one wish for?

  2. For most of the period between 1992 and 2000 the Repubs were running Congress so that doesn’t really serve as a good example. I pick on the Dems in this post but it seems whenever either party gains complete control of government, chaos ensues.

  3. Fair enough.

    Then let’s say the New Deal and the Great Society.

  4. I think that many historians would argue that the policies of the New Deal led directly to turning what was a significant economic downturn into what has become known as the Great Depression.
    Similarly in Thomas Sowell’s book “The Vision of the Annointed”, he argues pretty effectively that many of the social problems addressed by the Great Society programs had already begun to be solved and were in fact arrested and reversed by these programs.
    As much as I like to get on my soap box and express my opinions, I tend to view our system as Winston Churchill did when he said “Representative Democracy is the worst form of government ever devised…except for all the others.” It is often messy and ugly and seems to attract the worst of us into its service, but I am reasonably optimistic that our system of checks and balances will ultimately reign in the political extremes.
    Meanwhile guys like you and I, while coming to different conclusions politically, at least put forth the effort to come to those conclusions rather than anesthetise ourselves via the poular culture as seems to be the norm these days.

  5. You’re right about certain revisionist historians and economists and their views regarding both the New Deal and the Great Society. I don’t agree obviously.

    Sowell would certainly be considered one of those. I haven’t read this book but I have read his columns over the years and take his work with a large, large grain of salt.

    I agree with you about the messiness factor in our body politic. At the end of the day messy is better than violent. This contraption does sort of work.

  6. The fact that James Carville and Mary Matalin have what seems to be a happy marriage gives me hope that over time this contraption does work better than many in the opinion business would have you believe.
    Doesn’t mean I won’t bitch up a storm when things aren’t going my way however!

  7. That’s a very good point about Carville and Matalin.

    Politics aside they strike me as a pair of often extremely unlikable, quite obnoxious personages. That may be their bond.

Leave a Reply

