Super Chicken:

A few weeks ago I mocked my rooster cruelly in this post for standing aside and letting some sort of critter make off with one of my hens. I apparantly jumped to a wholly unfounded conclusion as last week upon approaching the run I encountered him, with the hens cowering under the rabbit cage, doing battle with an enormous fully mature bald eagle. And by battle I mean that rooster was going at that eagle hammer and tong despite the fact that the eagle was about three feet tall with a wing span of six or seven feet.  If I hadn’t come along I’m sure that the eagle would have dispatched him and who knows how many chickens  in short order. As it was he was pretty torn up and the only thing that kept me from putting him down right then and there was the kids begging me to wait and see if he could make it through the night. Amazingly he hung on and over the last couple days seemed his old ornery self chasing the hens around the yard and generally making a nuisance of himself. Unfortunately the eagle hadn’t forgotten his temerity and returned today to finish the job. Now I have to figure out a way to eagle proof my chicken run. This is NOT what I signed up for when I moved to the sticks.

Here’s to you bad ass rooster. I misjudged you in the worst way.

Leave a Reply

