Random Thoughts on Real Estate:

alec-baldwin-glengarry-glen-ross

“First place is a Cadillac Eldorado. Second place is a set of steak knives……Third place is you’re fired”.

With the recent slump in the real estate markets it’s hard to keep up with the number of agents departing the business for what they hope will be greener pastures. As was so brilliantly portrayed in the movie classic Glengarry-Glen-Ross, a career in sales  has a hierarchy. Generally speaking about 20% of the sales people make 80% of the sales. The remaining 80% are the steak knife winners just barely hanging on. The trick is in moving as quickly as possible from the later category to the former before your nest egg or patience runs out and you find yourself in the show position.

What about me?  I’ll answer that by using the time honored response of all sales people when asked “how’s business” in a slow market.

“Let me answer that by asking you this….” (Substitute here any subject other than how’s business).

Actually I can’t complain. I’m busier than most and doing what I love, focusing my business on the niche market of mid-century architecture that I have such passion for.

To anybody who’s out there, have a great weekend!

2 responses to “Random Thoughts on Real Estate:

  1. I’m not in the ten yet Daphne but I’m getting closer.
    The 80/20 rule seems to work just about everywhere except in politics where the bottom feeders of society rise to the top and stay there indefinately until as the former Governor of Louisianna Fast Eddie Edwards infamously stated “The only way they’ll get me out of office is if they catch me in bed with a dead girl or a live boy”.
    We’re in the best of hands.

Leave a Reply

